new spring reading!

I got a new book! Poor Borders Bookstores around Chicago are going out of business. I don’t think it’s all of them, but definitely all of the locations I frequent. It made me a little sad, Borders was one of those places you could just go hang out if you had an hour to kill and wanted to find something new to inspire you for the day. Sad as I may have been, I still took advantage of the “everything must go” sign and bought a new book: Veganist by Kathy Freston.

This author has another book called Quantum Wellness that was actually our spring board into Veganism. What I love about her writing and her books is that they are factual, informative, emotional but not preachy. We are not preachy Vegans, we don’t mind eating with friends who are having steak or burgers across the table from us, I mean it was only a few years ago that we were eating the same stuff. Just because it is a decision we made with our lives doesn’t mean that we insist that others do it too, that’s just silly. What I love the most about Kathy Freston is that she makes you feel great about the small changes you make in regard to food, even if that’s as far as you go. There is no pressure or guilt that you must be a Vegan. One of my favorite quotes from her last book that I still use in all aspects of my life is, “You can’t change everything, but you can change some things.” Something about this phrase just takes the pressure off of perfection, and allows you to be human and fallible about your decisions which will ultimately allows you to progress faster. It’s just a great feeling that mistakes are welcome as long as you keep trying and I love that!

“Progress, not perfection.”

~d

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

